Traditional Festivals of North Eastern States..

India is Unique in its own way and I can assure that no one would find such uniqueness anywhere in the world..India is full of Culture,Traditions,Festival that is worth experiencing once in Life–That is why I say–“Agar India ko nahi dekha to kya dekha”(Means–If you haven’t seen India than what have you seen).. πŸ™‚

And in This post I will present you with such Culture–The Traditional Festivals of NE India,In India every state has their own traditions and Culture and they are worth seeing and enjoying,So without wasting much time come lets know more about North Eastern Traditional Festival… πŸ™‚
Before this let me remind you North East India comprises of–TheΒ Seven Sister State-Assam,Arunachal,Manipur,Mizoram,Meghalaya,Nagaland and Tripura and the Himalayan State of Sikkim.

So Let’s Start–

  • Assam-The main traditional Festival of Assam is Bihu,there are 3 types of Bihu celebrated at different times of the year namely Magh Bihu(January),Bohag Bihu(April,embark the New Year of Assam),Kati Bihu(October) and out of this Bohag Bihu or Rongali Bihu is the most colorful celebrating with Bihu Dances all over Assam and Assamese people around the world..Apart from that festivals likeΒ Baishagu celebrated by Bodo Community,Majuli Festival in Majuli,Ali Ai Ligang celebrated by the Mishing Community.Apart from these there are many more other festivals celebrated in Assam with lots of enthusiasm by the Assamese People(And By Assamese I mean everyone from Assam)

    Festival Assam

    Festival Assam

This is from Assam,Please stay tuned for other NE States in my next post.. πŸ™‚

 

16 thoughts on “Traditional Festivals of North Eastern States..

    • Hmmm..You know I used to perform this dance when I was young and even now in my room I used to play a Bihu song and dance to it..I am glad that you love the Dance.. πŸ˜€

    • “is this the only piece of heritage that you can show off to the world? Seriously there are better things to latch onto πŸ™‚

      tanSEN was bengali my dear friend, so were a lot of other people! want to see the entire list as it stands today? so was subash chandra bose and sri aurobindo πŸ™‚

      and i can name a million others and i am proud to say our greateness can be exerted beyond our national borders.

      we bengalis have won pretty much every award in the world stage

      you name it we have it and we are damn proud of what we have πŸ™‚ ”

      KAMONASISH AAYUSH MAZUMDAR
      MBA, IMT Ghaziabad
      Bengaluru, Karnataka, India
      in.linkedin.com/in/7thsense

      • Thanks for the comment…Frist of all not the only piece of Heritage,but certainly worth knowing…India is big very big..but we Indians never realised that fact…I alone certainly cannot bring out all the heritage India holds to the world,there are billions of Indians and I believe everyone should contribute…And My dear friend the Blog is about bringing out the beauty,culture and traditions of NE India n hence the post…Don’t u think NE India has Heritage which I can show off to this world,correct me if I m worng,Remember Every part of India is full of Heritage and should be brought infornt of the world and every Indian should support in any way they can…Never expected to get such an comment from an MBA Grad…That makes me beleive we Indians still lacks a lot of things… 😦

  1. The festivals are very colorful and the people are very warm and are ready to teach you their traditions, I still have some gamchas given to be by some people from Assam about ten years ago. A nice post looking forward to the remaining states as I haven’t been there and haven’t learnt much about them either.

Feed this Blog with Your Valuable Comments

